User and Reference Guide for the Intel® Fortran Compiler 14.0

Using the Visual Studio* IDE Windows

The following applies to Fortran for Microsoft Visual Studio* 2010 and 2008.

After you start the Visual Studio* integrated development environment (IDE), a screen similar to the following appears:



This screen shows that the Solution named Console1, the Project named Console1, and the source file Console1.f90 have been opened. The right pane shows the file Console1.f90, opened in the default language-sensitive integrated development environment text editor, which uses different colors to identify the following:

Solution Explorer View

The left pane shows the Solution Explorer view, which lets you view different aspects of your solution, such as the source files in your solution. The tabs displayed in Solution Explorer vary depending upon the products installed and the files associated with the current solution. The sample screen shown above shows a Solution tab and a Property Manager tab (not used by Intel® Fortran). To display the Solution Explorer view, select View > Solution Explorer.

To edit a file listed in Solution Explorer, either double-click its file name or select File > Open and specify the file.

The Output window displays compilation and linker messages. To display the Output window, select View > Output. The Output window also links to the build log, if the Generate Build logs option is enabled in Tools > Options > Fortran.


Submit feedback on this help topic